The Sculptural Nature of Fruits and Vegetables

VEGETABLES - 8Last summer I was fascinated by Oregon’s bounty and the many varieties of fruits and vegetables grown in our beautiful state.  I did an entire series of  photographic diptychs featuring peaches, blueberries, raspberries, and tomatoes and goats and sheep and barns and ….well, you get the picture.  I promised myself I wouldn’t repeat that project this summer, but it’s hard to resist the sculptural nature of fruits and vegetables every Saturday when we take our Wheaten Terriers to the local farmer’s market. I thought I was weaning myself by not taking my camera every Saturday, but on the way back from a wonderful plant nursery in Woodburn (after picking up more flowering plants for our 24 foot by 8 foot raised backyard flower bed), we stopped at an Hispanic fruit and vegetable stand.  The displays caught my eye as did the interesting fruits and vegetables many of which I have not seen before.
VEGETABLES - 5I recognized the pineapples, the chilies, the asparagus (my favorite!) and the potatoes. The chilies were beautiful – bright green and red and tasty hot I’m sure!  The assorted potatoes looked like marbles. There were boxes full of fruits with prickly or raised skins which probably taste better than they look.  I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures. Perhaps if I ate more fruits and vegetables, I would know what I was looking at!  Yeah, that’s not going to happen.  (Although I am writing this while enjoying a plate of local fresh asparagus).  Maybe there’s hope!

Leave a Reply

