Yikes!

For my birthday, my husband gave me an incredible lens…a 150-500mm lens. It’s going to take me quite awhile to get used to using it.  The lens itself weighs four pounds!  I’m going to have to stop skipping my weight-lifting classes.   Actually, what I really need to do is start using my tripod. Sigh.

Spent some time experimenting with it this weekend…all handheld shots. I went a little crazy at the Oregon Gardens with the water lilies, but they were so hard to resist. I’m going to go through a huge learning curve with this monster but I think I will eventually get the hang of it.  Increasing my weights on the overhead press this week – or maybe I should just work out with the lens.   Hmmmm.

10 replies

  1. I’m so thrilled you got that lens!!! I have the 150-500mm Sigma OS … and I adore the thing!!! You’ll get used to the heft of it soon enough. When you carry it, you’ll find yourself cradling it in the crook of your arm like a baby!!! And no messy diapers!!!! BHAHAHAH!!!! If these were all taken with the new lens, I think it’s safe to say, you’ve got a new best friend in it!!!!!! Happy snapping!!!!!!

  2. Rebecca, what wonderful shots! It is wonderful you have a husband who encourages your photography and I can well imagine who says you are fantastic. Though I am not a horse person, that particular picture draws me in to the serenity of the moment.

  3. It’s so much fun to get a new lens! Using a tripod just takes practice. I hate having to be organized in my photography so a tripod is usually not part of the equation. Your pictures are beautiful Rebecca;)

  4. Thank you, Rebecca, for letting your eyes find my favorite flower, the water lily. I wonder if one of your photos will fetch $18M as did Monte’s water lily painting in 2007.

Leave a Reply

